

Republic of the Philippines Supreme Court Office of the Court Administrator Manila

OCA CIRCULAR NO. 151-2023

TO: ALL JUDGES OF THE FIRST AND SECOND

LEVEL COURTS

SUBJECT: NATIONAL LAUNCH OF THE CODE OF

PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY AND

ACCOUNTABILITY

The Sub-Committee for the Revision of the Code of Professional Responsibility will hold the "National Launch of the Code of Professional Responsibility and Accountability" on 13 April 2023, from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., at the Pandanggo-Polkabal Hall, Manila Hotel, Manila.

Relative thereto, all concerned are invited to watch the launch *via* YouTube Channel of the Supreme Court of the Philippines, during the time the activity is being held or at anytime thereafter.

Attached is a program of the aforesaid launch for reference.

05 April 2023

AUL B VILLANUEVA

Court Administrator

MMA / AW / fige / circular-nationallaunchof CPRA-04-13-2023

SUB-COMMITTEE FOR THE REVISION OF THE CODE OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

Chairperson:

Hon. Amy C. Lazaro-Javier

Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the Philippines

Vice-Chairpersons:

Hon. Samuel H. Gaerlan

Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the Philippines

Hon. Maria Filomena D. Singh

Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the Philippines

Members:

Hon. Geraldine C. Fiel-Macaraig

Associate Justice, Court of Appeals

Hon. Ma. Theresa Dolores C. Gomez-Estoesta

Associate Justice, Sandiganbayan

Hon. Josefe Sorrera-Ty

Commissioner, Legal Education Board

Hon. Caridad M. Walse-Lutero

Presiding Judge, Regional Trial Court, Branch 223, Quezon City

Hon. James T. Sy

Presiding Judge, Regional Trial Court, Branch 187, City of Manila

Hon. Jackie Belen Crisologo-Saguisag

Presiding Judge, Metropolitan Trial Court, Branch 67, Makati Citv

Hon. Avelino V. Sales, Jr.

Director for Bar Discipline, Integrated Bar of the Philippines

Dean Tranquil Gervacio Salvador

Manila Adventist College – College of Law Representative, Integrated Bar of the Philippines

Quezon City Chapter

Dean Ma. Soledad Deriquito-Mawis

Chairperson, Philippine Association of Law Schools

Atty. Fina Bernadette dela Cuesta-Tantuico

Member, Board of Trustees, Philippine Bar Association

Dean Joan S. Largo

Assistant Vice-President for Academic Affairs, University of San Carlos

Atty. Antonio Ceasar R. Manila

Representative, Office of Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo

Secretariat:

Atty. Marchellene B. Caday-Atitiw

Office of Associate Justice Amy C. Lazaro-Javier

Atty. Lloyd Danielle V. Javier

Office of Associate Justice Amy C. Lazaro-Javier

Atty. Cheska Ann M. Pazziuagan

Office of Associate Justce Samuel H. Gaerlan

Attv. Emerson M. Anit

Office of Associate Justce Samuel H. Gaerlan

Atty. Mcgyver L. Doria

Office of Associate Justice Maria Filomena D. Singh

Atty. Irish Jhade G. Alimpolos

Office of Associate Justice Maria Filomena D. Singh

Atty. Mark Darryl P. Buemio

Office of Associate Justice Maria Filomena D. Singh

Atty. Samantha Grace M. Alban

Office of Associate Justice Maria Filomena D. Singh

Atty. Mell Christopher Lantion

Office of Associate Justice Ma. Theresa Dolores C. Gomez-Estoesta

Stenographer:

Ms. Maria Lourdes M. Reves

Office of the Clerk of Court, Supreme Court En Banc

Administrative support:

Atty. Mae Bautista

Office of Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo

Ms. Maria Lourdes Banal

Office of the Clerk of Court, Supreme Court En Banc

NATIONAL LAUNCH OF THE





NATIONAL LAUNCH OF THE

OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY

This serves as an invitation

APRIL 13, 2023 THE MANILA HOTEL















NATIONAL LAUNCH OF THE CODE OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY

APRIL 13, 2023, THE MANILA HOTEL
PROGRAM

8:00 A.M.

REGISTRATION OF DELEGATES

9:00 A.M.

OPENING CEREMONIES

9:10 A.M.

OPENING REMARKS

• Hon. Amy C. Lazaro-Javier, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee for the Revision of the Code of Professional Responsibility

9:25 A.M.

MESSAGE OF GRATITUDE

• Hon. Samuel H. Gaerlan, Vice Chairperson of the Sub-Committee for the Revision of the Code of Professional Responsibility

9:40 A.M.

MESSAGE OF SUPPORT

• H.E. Luc Véron, Ambassador of the European Union to the Philippines

9:50 A.M.

MESSAGE OF SUPPORT

• Mr. Alexander O'Hara, Embassy Second Secretary for Politics, Australian Embassy in the Philippines

10:00 A.M.

MESSAGE OF SUPPORT (Recorded)

• Sam Chittick, Country Representative, The Asia Foundation

10:10 A.M.

MESSAGE OF SUPPORT

• Olivier-Georges Lermet, Senior Resident Policy Advisor, United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime

10:30 A.M.

INSPIRATIONAL MESSAGE

• Hon. Marvic Mario Victor F. Leonen, Senior Associate Justice

*Business Attire

11:00 A.M.

KEYNOTE SPEECH

• Hon. Alexander G. Gesmundo, Chief Justice

11:30 A.M.

SIGNING OF THE MANIFESTO OF COMMITMENT TO ETHICAL RESPONSIBILITY

11:45 A.M.

EXPLANATION OF PANELS

12:00 P.M.

LUNCH BREAK

1:30 P.M.

START OF PANEL SESSIONS

Panel 1: The Future of the Practice of Law: ASEAN Lawyers and Regional Practice

• Facilitators: Justice Geraldine C. Fiel-Macaraig and Justice Ma. Theresa Dolores C. Gomez-Estoesta

Panel 2: The Academe as the Frontliner for Shaping Ethical Lawyers

• Facilitators: Prof. Fina Dela Cuesta-Tantuico and Gov. Marcelino Michael I. Atanante IV (IBP Governor for Greater Metro Manila)

Panel 3: The Technologically Adept Lawyer: Areas of Concerns and Gains

• Facilitators: Judge James T. Sy and Judge Caridad Walse-Lutero

3:30 P.M.

CLOSING REMARKS

• Hon. Maria Filomena D. Singh, Vice Chairperson of the Sub-Committee for the Revision of the Code of Professional Responsibility

4:00 P.M.

CLOSING PRAYER

5:00 P.M.

DINNER AND SOCIALS FOR THE DELEGATES