

Republic of the Philippines Supreme Court Office of the Court Administrator

OCA CIRCULAR NO. <u>375-2023</u>

FOR: CONCERNED JUDGES OF THE 1ST AND 2ND LEVEL COURTS

SUBJECT: PARTICIPATION IN THE JAIL DECONGESTION SUMMIT

The Justice Sector Coordinating Council (JSCC), with Principal Convenor Chief Justice Alexander G. Gesmundo, is organizing the **Jail Decongestion Summit** on December **6 to 7**, **2023** at the **Diamond Hotel Philippines**, Roxas Boulevard cor. Dr. J. Quintos Street, Manila.

The JSCC was organized and established on April 30, 2010 to serve as a forum for dialogue on issues of common interest and a mechanism for effective sharing of information in support of the planning and the implementation of joint initiatives among justice sector institutions, specifically, the Supreme Court (SC), the Department of Justice (DOJ), and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG). The JSCC member institutions work together on issues affecting the justice system while at all times respecting and preserving the independence of their respective offices and attached agencies. Since its inception, the JSCC has taken substantial strides towards realizing timely coordination between and among justice sector agencies and stakeholders.

Its next major undertaking, the Jail Decongestion Summit, is being organized with a vision towards an improved correctional and reformation system. It aims to comprehensively and strategically address congestion in detention facilities through a holistic approach by reviewing the present rules and processes to reduce admissions, increase releases of persons deprived of liberty (PDLs), and expand the capacity of jail facilities, among other key interventions and programs, through the coordinative efforts of the justice sector institutions.

The Summit shall be a venue to introduce and discuss short, medium, and long-term strategies and the corresponding proposed activities, initiatives, and other interventions to address this critical issue.

The following Judges are enjoined to participate in the two-day Summit:

ON OFFICIAL TIME:

1. Hon. Gwyn P. Calina	RTC Br. 44, Manila
2. Hon. Maria Sophia S. Taylor	RTC Br. 31, Manila
3. Hon. Restituto V. Mangalindan, Jr.	RTC Br. 280, Mandaluyong City
4. Hon. Rosanna Fe R. Maglaya	RTC Br. 88, Quezon City

- 5. Hon. Pia Cristina Bersamin-Embuscado
- 6. Hon. Gina Bibat-Palamos
- 7. Hon. Rey P. Inciong
- 8. Hon. Myra B. Quiambao
- 9. Hon. Bernard D. Rosario
- 10. Hon. Regina Paz R. Chavez
- 11. Hon. Achilles Aristotle C. Balauitan
- 12. Hon. Jimmy Edmund G. Batara
- 13. Hon. Romana Maria Melchora L. del Rosario
- 14. Hon. Racquelen A. Vasquez
- 15. Hon. Byron G. San Pedro
- 16. Hon. Bernard P. Bernal

ON OFFICIAL BUSINESS:

- 17. Hon. Mia Joy C. Oallares-Cawed
- 18. Hon. Benigno C. Abila
- 19. Hon. Elenita Macatangay-Alviar
- 20. Hon. Marion Jacqueline P. Poblete
- 21. Hon. Glenda R. Mendoza-Ramos
- 22. Hon. Banuar Reuben A. Falcon
- 23. Hon. Edgardo R. Sison
- 24. Hon. Michael C. Maranan
- 25. Hon. Ruben E. Sevillano, Jr.
- 26. Hon. Purificacion A. Baring-Tuvera
- 27. Hon. Arnold Rimon Martinez
- 28. Hon. Rose Marie J. Manalang-Austria
- 29. Hon. Maricel M. Magpantay-Ng
- 30. Hon. Jocelyn S. Dilig
- 31. Hon. Pablo C. Formaran III
- 32. Hon. Phoebe Gargantiel-Balbin
- 33. Hon. Marlon Jay G. Moneva

RTC Br. 198, Las Piñas City RTC Br. 64, Makati City RTC Br. 263, Marikina City RTC Br. 203, Muntinlupa City RTC Br. 120, Caloocan City RTC Br. 120, Caloocan City RTC Br. 174, Parañaque City RTC Br. 154, Pasig City RTC Br. 154, Pasig City RTC Br. 72, Malabon City RTC Br. 287, Navotas City RTC Br. 116. Pasay City RTC Br. 15-FC, Taguig City

RTC Br. 4, Baguio City

RTC Br. 70, Taguig City

RTC Br. 117, Angeles City

- RTC Br. 121, Meycauayan City RTC Br. 3, Balanga City RTC Br. 36, Calamba City RTC Br. 71, Antipolo City
 - RTC Br. 140, Antipolo City
- RTC Br. 134, Tagaytay City RTC Br. 45,
- San Jose, Occidental Mindoro
- RTC Br. 23, Trece Martires City

RTC Br. 108, Cabuyao City

- RTC Br. 87, Rosario, Batangas
- RTC Br. 58, Lucena City RTC Br. 47, Puerto Princesa City RTC Br. 21, Naga City RTC Br. 45, Bacolod City

RTC Br. 74, Cebu City

34. Hon. Dexter L. Aguilar	RTC Br. 10, Abuyog, Leyte
35. Hon. Peter V. Eisma	RTC Br. 15, Zamboanga City
36. Hon. Retrina E. Fuentes	RTC Br. 10, Davao City
37. Hon. Gemma G. Betonio	RTC Br. 4, Panabo, Davao del Norte
38. Hon. Ruth B. Bawayan	MTCC Br. 6, Baguio City
39. Hon. Ireneo M. Lustre	MTCC, Santa Rosa, Laguna
40. Hon. Bernadette V. Tagalag-Viniegra	MTCC Branch 2, Cavite City

Attendance of the above-named judges is mandatory and on OFFICIAL TIME/OFFICIAL BUSINESS, as indicated above.

The participating judges shall see to it that their respective court calendars are properly managed, and the parties notified in advance of any cancelled hearings.

Any communication relating to this activity should be addressed to the Summit Secretariat through this email address: jaildecongestionsummit.sc@judiciary.gov.ph.

Issued this 23^{rd} day of November 2023.

RA LA ound Administrator

•