

Republic of the Philippines Supreme Court Office of the Court Administrator Manila

## OCA CIRCULAR NO. <u>378-2023</u>

## TO : ALL FIRST AND SECOND LEVEL COURTS IN MAKATI CITY AND TAGUIG CITY

## SUBJECT : GUIDELINES GOVERNING THE TRANSFER AND ASSUMPTION OF JURISDICTION OF THE TAGUIG CITY COURTS OVER THE CASES ARISING FROM THE AFFECTED AREAS<sup>1</sup>

In its 14 November 2023 Resolution in A.M. No. 23-10-01-SC (Re: Letter dated 24 September 2023 of Mayor Maria Laarni L. Cayetano of Taguig City requesting for the simultaneous transfer of jurisdiction of cases and over crimes committed within the areas comprising the Parcels 3 and 4 PSU-2031 declared to be part of Taguig City in G.R. No. 235316), the Court en banc laid down the guidelines governing the transfer and assumption of jurisdiction of the Taguig City courts over the cases arising from the affected areas, thus:

- 1. Effective **01 January 2024**, all **civil and criminal cases** coming from the affected areas shall be filed in the courts of Taguig City. For criminal complaints pertaining to offenses which transpired or were committed before 01 January 2024, the same shall be filed in the Makati City Prosecutor's Office. Commencing on 01 January 2024, the said criminal complaints shall be filed with the Taguig City Prosecutor's Office; and
- 2. All civil and criminal cases already filed and pending before the first and second level courts in Makati City before 01 January 2024 shall proceed to trial, be heard, and ultimately decided by the respective Makati City courts. *(Emphasis added)*

The term "civil cases" include, among others, the following: (1) ordinary civil actions; (2) special civil actions; (3) special proceedings; and (4) land registration cases.

Any prior circular or directive from the Office of the Court Administrator on this matter contrary to the foregoing is hereby deemed superseded.

For the information, guidance, and strict compliance of all concerned.

28 November 2023

/ACJ/frc/circular-guide

B. VILLANUEVA RAU ourt Administrator

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Refers to ten (10) barangays which have been declared to be part of Taguig City (Cembo, South Cembo, Comembo, East Rembo, West Rembo, Pembo, Rizal, Pitogo, Post Proper Northside, and Post Proper Southside)